Axel Dürkop on Mastodon The Architecture of Openness. Thoughts on Designing the Digital Transformation (in German) | Axel Dürkop

The Architecture of Openness. Thoughts on Designing the Digital Transformation (in German)

Abstract

The architecture of technology influences the openness of socio-technical systems and is jointly responsible for their degrees of freedom. Because “architecture is politics” (Kapor, 1991, 2006; O’Reilly, 2004) and “code is law” (Lessig, 2006).
For teaching and research, this means thinking carefully about which architecture our digital future should be based on if transparency and participation are important to us as the cornerstones of our democracy. We have the choice between centralized solutions, which can bring with them many advantages, but also strong dependencies. Or we can continue the successful decentralized architecture of the Internet with modern technical concepts and open standards and assume responsibility for the digital commons - whereby both paths are not mutually exclusive.
Young scientists can and should imagine a world of open architectures in which individual and collective inventiveness becomes the driving force behind digitization. After all, universities will not be able to do so if they see themselves merely as partners and customers of major industrial players who are increasingly taking control of digital architecture in teaching and research.

Date
Location
Hamburg, Germany
Next

Axel Dürkop on Mastodon Die Architektur von Offenheit. Überlegungen zur Gestaltung der digitalen Transformation | Axel Dürkop

Die Architektur von Offenheit. Überlegungen zur Gestaltung der digitalen Transformation

Zusammenfassung

Die Architektur der Technik beeinflusst die Offenheit sozio-technischer Systeme und ist mitverantwortlich für deren Freiheitsgrade. Weil Architektur Politik ist” (Kapor, 1991, 2006; O’Reilly, 2004) und “Kodex ist Gesetz”. (Lessig, 2006).
Für Lehre und Forschung heißt das, genau zu überlegen, auf welcher Architektur unsere digitale Zukunft basieren soll, wenn uns Transparenz und Partizipation als Grundpfeiler unserer Demokratie wichtig sind. Wir haben die Wahl zwischen zentralisierten Lösungen, die viele Vorteile, aber auch starke Abhängigkeiten mit sich bringen können. Oder wir führen die erfolgreiche dezentrale Architektur des Internets mit modernen technischen Konzepten und offenen Standards fort und übernehmen Verantwortung für die digitale Allmende - wobei sich beide Wege nicht ausschließen.
Der wissenschaftliche Nachwuchs kann und darf sich eine Welt offener Architekturen vorstellen, in der individueller und kollektiver Erfindungsreichtum zur treibenden Kraft der Digitalisierung wird. Denn Hochschulen bleiben unter ihren Möglichkeiten, wenn sie sich nur mehr als Partner und Kunden großer industrieller Player verstehen, die zusehends die Kontrolle über die digitale Architektur in Lehre und Forschung übernehmen.

Datum
Ort
Hamburg, Germany
Weiter