Shaping Openness

In this series of videos I deal with code, tools and architecture that I find interesting and capable of advancing teaching and research.

alt

  • Getting Started with GitLab

    This episodes gives a detailed introduction to onboarding GitLab. It aims at non-professional programmers who want to get acquainted with git-like collaboration.

  • Collaborating on Office Documents with GitLab

    GitLab can be used like a NextCloud or Online Drive although it’s made for more than that. But onboarding colleagues and learners with this approach is a good idea, experience shows.

  • Build Anything with GitLab

    In combination with Docker containers you can build almost anything with GitLab. Let’s find out, how collaborating on software, websites, blogs, scientific articles, Open Educational Resources (OER) and books works.

  • Branches, Forks and Merge Requests in GitLab

    Collaboration works best with clear social contracts between the people involved. When technical systems implement and support them, too, working together even over great distance can be managed and be fun. GitLab implements two core concepts for collaboration on projects.

  • Forkability and (De)coupling LMS and OER

    David Wiley is known for coining the 5R permissions of Open Educational Resources (OER). Not so well known is his ALMS framework that defines the openness of learning material from a technical perspective. Thus, in this episode I want to take a look at the ALMS framework and the concept of forkability of OER.

  • Setting Up a Scholarly Writing Environment with Markdown, VSCodium and pandoc

    Bringing together Markdown, GitLab, Docker and the brilliant editor VSCodium one can have a very mighty writing and publishing environment. In this episode I want to give an insight into this approach for scholarly writing and editing.

Shaping Openness

In dieser Videoreihe beschäftige ich mich mit Code, Tools und Architektur, die ich interessant finde und die Lehre und Forschung voranbringen können. Alle Videos sind in englischer Sprache.

alt

  • Getting Started with GitLab

    Diese Folge gibt eine ausführliche Einführung in das Onboarding von GitLab. Sie richtet sich an nicht-professionelle Programmierer:innen, die sich mit der Zusammenarbeit in Git vertraut machen wollen.

  • Collaborating on Office Documents with GitLab

    GitLab kann wie eine NextCloud oder ein Online Drive verwendet werden, obwohl es für mehr als das gedacht ist. Aber die Erfahrung zeigt, dass es eine gute Idee ist, Kollegen und Lernende mit diesem Ansatz abzuholen.

  • Build Anything with GitLab

    In Kombination mit Docker-Containern können Sie mit GitLab fast alles bauen. Lassen Sie uns herausfinden, wie die Zusammenarbeit an Software, Websites, Blogs, wissenschaftlichen Artikeln, Open Educational Resources (OER) und Büchern funktioniert.

  • Branches, Forks and Merge Requests in GitLab

    Zusammenarbeit funktioniert am besten mit klaren sozialen Verträgen zwischen den beteiligten Personen. Wenn technische Systeme diese auch umsetzen und unterstützen, kann die Zusammenarbeit auch über große Entfernungen hinweg gelingen und Spaß machen. GitLab implementiert zwei Kernkonzepte für die Zusammenarbeit an Projekten. In Kombination mit Docker-Containern können Sie mit GitLab fast alles bauen. Lassen Sie uns herausfinden, wie die Zusammenarbeit an Software, Websites, Blogs, wissenschaftlichen Artikeln, Open Educational Resources (OER) und Büchern funktioniert.

  • Forkability and (De)coupling LMS and OER

    David Wiley ist bekannt dafür, dass er die 5Rs für offene Bildungsressourcen (OER) geprägt hat. Weniger bekannt ist sein ALMS-Rahmenwerk, das die Offenheit von Lernmaterialien aus einer technischen Perspektive definiert. Daher möchte ich in dieser Folge einen Blick auf das ALMS-Rahmenwerk und das Konzept der Forkability von OER werfen.

  • Setting Up a Scholarly Writing Environment with Markdown, VSCodium and pandoc

    Wenn man Markdown, GitLab, Docker und den brillanten Editor VSCodium zusammenbringt, kann man eine sehr mächtige Schreib- und Veröffentlichungsumgebung haben. In dieser Folge möchte ich einen Einblick in diesen Ansatz für wissenschaftliches Schreiben und Bearbeiten geben.